A Return Engagement

A Return Engagement.

This trinket arrived in Friday’s mail.

From: Hendricks, Melissa
Sent: Friday, January 21, 2011 7:20 PM
Subject: reply via alexflock1932@hotmail.com over $24,500,000.00

Good Day,I have a Business Proposal of $24,500,000.00 for you to handle with me If interested,please reply via alexflock1932@hotmail.com For More Details.Regards, S.A.Flockhart

We thought it seemed familiar, so we checked back through the pile and found the following.

From: Alex Flockhart [mailto:info@w.cn]
Sent: Friday, January 14, 2011 7:51 AM
To: undisclosed-recipients:
Subject: S.A. Flockhart.(Your Response And Assurance)

Good Day,

I have a Business Proposal of $24,500,000.00 for you to handle with me
please reply me for more information.Contact me on my email:
alexflockhart56@gmx.com Regards, S.A Flockhart

Surprisingly similar, wouldn’t you agree? Could there be more than one S.A Flockhart?

We decided to investigate and responded with this.

From: Us
Sent: Friday, January 21, 2011 7:43 PM
To: alexflock1932@hotmail.com
Subject: You moved?

From: Alex Flockhart [mailto:info@w.cn]
Sent: Friday, January 14, 2011 7:51 AM
To: undisclosed-recipients:
Subject: S.A. Flockhart.(Your Response And Assurance)

Good Day,
I have a Business Proposal of $24,500,000.00 for you to handle with me
please reply me for more information.Contact me on my email:
alexflockhart56@gmx.com Regards, S.A Flockhart

When AlexFlockhart1932 first saw our message, he would have seen the italicized portion in its entirety. One might reasonably believe that the recipient might suspect that someone was perhaps playing with them. One might believe that, but apparently not dear S.A Flockhart.

This was the response.

From: S.A Flockhart
Sent: Saturday, January 22, 2011 2:51 AM
To: Us
Subject: Your Prompt Response is Needed???

Thanks for your response. I just hope that in the course of our correspondence within the next 3days, you can assure me that you’re trustworthy and sincere person because this involves a lot of money. I am Mr. Alexander Andrew Flockhart, Chief Executive Officer of the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, I am contacting you concerning our late customer and, an investment placed under our banks management before the Iraq war.

I would respectfully request that you keep the contents of this mail confidential and respect the integrity of the information you come by as a result of this mail. I contacted you independently of our investigation and no one is informed of this communication. I would like to intimate you with certain facts that I believe would be of interest to you.

In 2004, the subject matter; ref: bb/boh/bank/0012 came to our bank to engage in business discussions with our Private Banking Services Department. He informed us that he had a financial portfolio of 24.5 million United States Dollars, which he wished to have us turn over (invest) on his behalf. I was the officer assigned to his case; I made numerous suggestions in line with my duties as the de-facto chief operations officer of the Private Banking Services Department, especially given the volume of funds he wished to put into our bank. We met on numerous occasions prior to any investments being placed.

I encouraged him to consider various growth funds with prime ratings. The favored route in my advice to customers is to start by assessing data on 6000 traditional stocks and bond managers and 2000 managers of alternative investments.

We later found out that the General along with his family had been killed in a bomb blast that hit their home, what bothers me most is according to the laws of my country at the expiration of 6 years the funds will revert to the Hong Kong Government if nobody comes for the funds, Against this scenery, I have all the information needed to claim these funds.

All I require is your honest co-operation and I guarantee that this will be executed under a legitimate arrangement that will protect me and you from any breach of the law. Please accept my apologies, keep my confidence and disregard this email if you do not appreciate this proposal I have offered you. I want to know if you are willing to follow up this business seriously before I can give you more details about this transaction,however I shall be waiting for your response and assurance.

In line with our internal processes for account holders who have passed away, we instituted our own investigations in good faith to determine who should have right to claim the estate. This investigation has for the past months been unfruitful. We have scanned every continent and used our private investigation affiliate companies to get to the root of the problem, the investigation did not ever yield any result.

My official capacity dictates that I am the only party to supervise the investigation and the only party to receive the results of the investigation. This leaves me as the only person with the full picture of what the prevailing situation is in relation to the deposit and the late beneficiary of the deposit. According to practice, the firm will by the end of this financial year broadcast a request for statements of claim to BOC, failing to receive viable claims they will most probably revert the deposit back to BOC.

This will result in the money entering the BOC accounting system and the portfolio will be out of my hands and out of the Private Banking Services Department. This will not happen if I have my way.

please reply with the given details below:

Your Full Name:
Your Age and Gender :
Your Nationality:
Your House Address:
Your Occupation:
Your Tele-phone And Fax No:

My proposal; I am prepared to place you in a position to give instruction for the release of the deposit to you as the closest surviving relation. Upon receipt of the deposit, I am prepared to share the money with you in half. That is: I will simply nominate you as the next of kin and have them release the deposit to you. We share the proceeds 50/50. I would have gone ahead to ask the funds be released to me, but that would have drawn a straight line to me and my involvement in claiming the deposit.

I assure you that I could have the deposit released to you within a few days. I will simply inform the bank of the final closing of the file relating to the customer I will then officially communicate with firm and instruct them to release the deposit to you.

Your earliest response to this letter will be appreciated.

Sincerely,

A.A. Flockhart

There is little doubt that this is a Fraud. Why? Take a closer look.

From: S.A Flockhart
Sent: Saturday, January 22, 2011 2:51 AM
To: Us
Subject: Your Prompt Response is Needed???

We do not understand the questions marks, but then, we do not understand why we received a response at all.

Thanks for your response. I just hope that in the course of our correspondence within the next 3days, you can assure me that you’re trustworthy and sincere person because this involves a lot of money. I am Mr. Alexander Andrew Flockhart, Chief Executive Officer of the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, I am contacting you concerning our late customer and, an investment placed under our banks management before the Iraq war.

Mr. Flockhart seems to have forgotten that his initials would suggest that his first name starts with the letter s. How does someone with Mr. Flockhart’s reduced intellectual capacity rise to the top of a large corporation. HSBC has their own email, why is Mr. Flockhart not using the company email?
Our mistake, it seems that the real Mr. Flockhart, goes by the nickname Sandy. Please do not bother the real Mr. Flockhart. We are very sure this communication did not come from him.

I would respectfully request that you keep the contents of this mail confidential and respect the integrity of the information you come by as a result of this mail. I contacted you independently of our investigation and no one is informed of this communication. I would like to intimate you with certain facts that I believe would be of interest to you.

We believe we have failed the confidentiality portion of the request. We have also seen the word intimate used as a verb twice in one week, without any recollection of having seem such usage previous to this past week.

In 2004, the subject matter; ref: bb/boh/bank/0012 came to our bank to engage in business discussions with our Private Banking Services Department. He informed us that he had a financial portfolio of 24.5 million United States Dollars, which he wished to have us turn over (invest) on his behalf. I was the officer assigned to his case; I made numerous suggestions in line with my duties as the de-facto chief operations officer of the Private Banking Services Department, especially given the volume of funds he wished to put into our bank. We met on numerous occasions prior to any investments being placed.

I encouraged him to consider various growth funds with prime ratings. The favored route in my advice to customers is to start by assessing data on 6000 traditional stocks and bond managers and 2000 managers of alternative investments.

We later found out that the General along with his family had been killed in a bomb blast that hit their home, what bothers me most is according to the laws of my country at the expiration of 6 years the funds will revert to the Hong Kong Government if nobody comes for the funds, Against this scenery, I have all the information needed to claim these funds.

By our calculations, the Hong Kong Government should have had the money for quite some time since this all began seven years ago. Four more paragraphs of clever sounding babble follow. Four paragraphs filled with the all too familiar double-speak covering our safety, their integrity, the need for discretion, etc.
The writer impresses us with his driving need to help us claim this money and assures us that he will not fail on our behalf.
Most of the writers we have examined strike us as the type who, when asked for the time, would respond with the history of clocks.

All I require is your honest co-operation and I guarantee that this will be executed under a legitimate arrangement that will protect me and you from any breach of the law. Please accept my apologies, keep my confidence and disregard this email if you do not appreciate this proposal I have offered you. I want to know if you are willing to follow up this business seriously before I can give you more details about this transaction,however I shall be waiting for your response and assurance.

The writer seeks an honest thief.

In line with our internal processes for account holders who have passed away, we instituted our own investigations in good faith to determine who should have right to claim the estate. This investigation has for the past months been unfruitful. We have scanned every continent and used our private investigation affiliate companies to get to the root of the problem, the investigation did not ever yield any result.

As far as their investigation has gone, we are their only hope.

My official capacity dictates that I am the only party to supervise the investigation and the only party to receive the results of the investigation. This leaves me as the only person with the full picture of what the prevailing situation is in relation to the deposit and the late beneficiary of the deposit. According to practice, the firm will by the end of this financial year broadcast a request for statements of claim to BOC, failing to receive viable claims they will most probably revert the deposit back to BOC.

We do not know this BOC, please explain. We are bothered by the phrase “most probably”. It doesn’t sound very reassuring.

This will result in the money entering the BOC accounting system and the portfolio will be out of my hands and out of the Private Banking Services Department. This will not happen if I have my way.

We are reassured that our shining knight shall save us. Would that it were true.

please reply with the given details below:

Your Full Name:
Your Age and Gender :
Your Nationality:
Your House Address:
Your Occupation:
Your Tele-phone And Fax No:

My proposal; I am prepared to place you in a position to give instruction for the release of the deposit to you as the closest surviving relation. Upon receipt of the deposit, I am prepared to share the money with you in half. That is: I will simply nominate you as the next of kin and have them release the deposit to you. We share the proceeds 50/50. I would have gone ahead to ask the funds be released to me, but that would have drawn a straight line to me and my involvement in claiming the deposit.

We are sorry, but this just seems very out of character.

I assure you that I could have the deposit released to you within a few days. I will simply inform the bank of the final closing of the file relating to the customer I will then officially communicate with firm and instruct them to release the deposit to you.

Your earliest response to this letter will be appreciated.

Sincerely,

A.A. Flockhart

Please should you receive this message, delete it. It is not real. It is a Fraud.

Whatever you do please do not be so silly as to respond.

We, unfortunately, have been known not to heed our own advice and, as a result, we sent the following to our mystery correspondent.

From:Old Wizard
Sent: Saturday, January 22, 2011 3:07 PM
To:alexflock1932@hotmail.com
Subject: Meine Prompt Response

Hear is mine informations:

Your Full Name: Adolph Eichmann
Your Age and Gender : Male 97
Your Nationality: German
Your House Address: 13 Eva Braun Strasse Düsseldorf Germany
Your Occupation: Henchman
Your Tele-phone And Fax No: Keine Telephone

Danke,

Adolph

We fear our response may have been too strong. Nevertheless, we await a response and shall keep you informed.

Come back tomorrow for “Knocking on Heaven’s Door” here at HowToSpotAFraud.com.

That is all.

This entry was posted in Email fraud, Humor, Sarcasm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

