The Strange Case of the African Germ Stones

The Strange Case of the African Germ Stones

This morning’s mail brought an uninviting invitation to visit Africa. We think not.

We are a bit under the weather this day, so forgive us if our comments appear a trifle terse.

From: JOHN BALI [mailto:johnbali000@rediffmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 11, 2011 7:45 AM
To: undisclosed recipients:
Subject: PLEASE KINDLY OPEN THE ATTACHMENT FILE FOR MORE DETAILS.

The contents of the attachment follow:

FROM MR.JOHN BALI
JOHANNESBUR REPUBLIC
OF SOUTH AFRICA
TEL: +27 783 317 554
EMAIL johnbalifamily01@gala.net
 
ATTN: MD/C.E.O

Dear
   Sir/Madame

                                            TRANSFER NEGOTIATION
You may be surprised to receive this letter from me since you do not know me personally, the purpose of my introduction is that, I am Mr. John Bali first son of Mr. Abrahim Bali, who was recently murdered in the land dispute in Zimbabwe. I got your contact through South African Information Exchange decided to write you.

Before the death of my father, he had taken me to Johannesburg to deposit the sum of (Eighteen Million Six Houndred Thousand United States Dollars), in one of the private security company, as if he foresaw the looming danger in Zimbabwe. This money was deposited in a box as germ stones to avoid much demurrage from Security Company. This amount was meant for the purchase of new machines and chemicals for the farms and established of new farm in Swaziland.

This land problem came when Zimbabwean President MR.ROBERT MUGABE introduce a new Land Act reform which wholly affected the rich white farmers and some few blacks farmers. And this resulted to the killing and mob action by Zimbabwean war veterans and some lunatics in the society. In fact, a lot of people were killed because of this land reformed Act for which my father was one of the victim.

It is against this background that, I and my family who are currently staying in South Africa decided to transfer my father’s money to foreign account since the law of South Africa prohibits a refugee (asylum seeker) to open any bank account or to be involved in any financial transaction throughout the territorial zone South Africa. As the eldest son of my father, I am saddle with the responsibility of seeking a genuine foreign account where this money could be transferred without the knowledge of my government who are bent on taking everything we have got. The South African government seems to be playing along with them. I am faced with the dilemma of investing this amount of money in South Africa for fear of going through the same experience in future since both countries have similar political history. Moreover, the South African Foreign Exchange Policy does not allow such investments for an asylum seeker.

As a businessman, who I have to entrust my future since both my future and of my family are in his hands, I must let you know that this transaction is risk free. If you accept to assist my family and me all I want you to do for me is to make arrangements and come to Johannesburg-South Africa, so that you can open a non-resident account, which you will aid us in transferring the money into any account which you will nominate overseas. This money I intended to use for investment.
 
I have two options for you; firstly you can choose to have certain percentage of the money for nominating your account for this transaction. Or you can go into partnership with me for proper profitable investment of the money in your country. Whichever the options you want, feel free to notify me. If you do not prefer partnership I am willing to give you 25% of the money while the remaining 75% will be for my investment in your country.

Contact me with the above e-mail, and Telephone number while I implore you to maintain the absolute secrecy required in this transaction

Yours Faithfully,
MR. John BALI.
(For the Family)

PLEASE YOU CAN READ ABOUT PROBLEMS IN ZIMBABWE FROM THE LINKS BELOW.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/waorld/africa/918781.stm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/715001.stm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/1063785.stm

How could we possibly doubt Mr. Bali’s sincere proposal? Still, better safe that sorry. Could this be a Fraud? Let’s investigate, shall we.

From: JOHN BALI [mailto:johnbali000@rediffmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 11, 2011 7:45 AM
To: undisclosed recipients:
Subject: PLEASE KINDLY OPEN THE ATTACHMENT FILE FOR MORE DETAILS.

It seems that for all his travels, Mr. Bali could not set up an email account anywhere but in India. As is becoming customary, Mr. Bali believes our name to be Undisclosed Recipients, and judging from the subject line, he believes us to be hard of hearing.

The contents of the attachment follow:

Mr. Bali was kind enough to supply a virus-free attachment file.

FROM MR.JOHN BALI
JOHANNESBUR REPUBLIC
OF SOUTH AFRICA
TEL: +27 783 317 554
EMAIL johnbalifamily01@gala.net
 
Mr. Bali continues to shout. He also hasn’t taken advantage of his spell checker or he would have noticed that he’d misspelled his adopted home town. He has also managed another email address. This time in Russia. Are we to assume there are no email providers in South Africa?

ATTN: MD/C.E.O

We are neither.

Dear   Sir/Madame

One of these, sir or madame, is correct.

                                            TRANSFER NEGOTIATION
You may be surprised to receive this letter from me since you do not know me personally, the purpose of my introduction is that, I am Mr. John Bali first son of Mr. Abrahim Bali, who was recently murdered in the land dispute in Zimbabwe. I got your contact through South African Information Exchange decided to write you.

Yes, we were surprised indeed. We were unaware that South African Information Exchange knew so little about us and yet the scarcity of information did not dissuade Mr. Bali from pressing on.

Before the death of my father, he had taken me to Johannesburg to deposit the sum of (Eighteen Million Six Houndred Thousand United States Dollars), in one of the private security company, as if he foresaw the looming danger in Zimbabwe. This money was deposited in a box as germ stones to avoid much demurrage from Security Company. This amount was meant for the purchase of new machines and chemicals for the farms and established of new farm in Swaziland.

Well, what can we say, English is clearly not Mr. Bali’s strong suit. We are not entirely sure what germ stones are, but they seem to demur in the presence of security companies. We were surprised to find out how easily obtainable they were, however.

This land problem came when Zimbabwean President MR.ROBERT MUGABE introduce a new Land Act reform which wholly affected the rich white farmers and some few blacks farmers. And this resulted to the killing and mob action by Zimbabwean war veterans and some lunatics in the society. In fact, a lot of people were killed because of this land reformed Act for which my father was one of the victim.

Given that Mr. Bali would like us to come visit, he does a poor job of making the trip appealing.

It is against this background that, I and my family who are currently staying in South Africa decided to transfer my father’s money to foreign account since the law of South Africa prohibits a refugee (asylum seeker) to open any bank account or to be involved in any financial transaction throughout the territorial zone South Africa. As the eldest son of my father, I am saddle with the responsibility of seeking a genuine foreign account where this money could be transferred without the knowledge of my government who are bent on taking everything we have got. The South African government seems to be playing along with them. I am faced with the dilemma of investing this amount of money in South Africa for fear of going through the same experience in future since both countries have similar political history. Moreover, the South African Foreign Exchange Policy does not allow such investments for an asylum seeker.

Mr. Bali plays unconvincingly on our sympathies with a fair amount of doublespeak.

As a businessman, who I have to entrust my future since both my future and of my family are in his hands, I must let you know that this transaction is risk free. If you accept to assist my family and me all I want you to do for me is to make arrangements and come to Johannesburg-South Africa, so that you can open a non-resident account, which you will aid us in transferring the money into any account which you will nominate overseas. This money I intended to use for investment.

It seems that all we need to do save Mr. Bali and his family is to travel to South Africa and open a bank account. It is reassuring to know that there is no risk involved.
 
I have two options for you; firstly you can choose to have certain percentage of the money for nominating your account for this transaction. Or you can go into partnership with me for proper profitable investment of the money in your country. Whichever the options you want, feel free to notify me. If you do not prefer partnership I am willing to give you 25% of the money while the remaining 75% will be for my investment in your country.

A generous soul indeed is Mr. Bali. He is willing to share a full quarter of his germ stones with us and is even willing to enter into a partnership with us, whereby we could avail ourselves of his brilliant investment skills.

Contact me with the above e-mail, and Telephone number while I implore you to maintain the absolute secrecy required in this transaction

Yours Faithfully,
MR. John BALI.
(For the Family)

PLEASE YOU CAN READ ABOUT PROBLEMS IN ZIMBABWE FROM THE LINKS BELOW.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/waorld/africa/918781.stm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/715001.stm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/1063785.stm

In order to convince us as to the seriousness of his plight (and the family’s) Mr. Bali provides us with a dead link and two eleven year old BBC articles, while shouting at us.

Please, as heartbreaking as Mr. Bali’s tale of woe might appear to be, steel your resolve and press delete. Do not respond. Do not travel to Johannesburg. Do not lose any sleep.

This is a Fraud.

Come back tomorrow when we look at “A Bargain from the United Nations” here at HowToSpotAFraud.com.

That is all.

This entry was posted in Email fraud, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

